Post Delayed by Irene


Hurricane Irene

As you likely are aware, Hurricane Irene tore threw the Northeast region of the United States yesterday, and one of our trees got in her way. Thankfully, we were left unscathed other than the loss of that one tree, one car, and a lingering power outage. Prayers go out to the families who suffered loss of loved ones in this storm.

This week’s Margarita Moments blog will be posted later today. I’m ready for a little escape. How about you?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwen Hernandez
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 08:30:21

    Oh no, Jolyse. So sorry about your tree and car, but glad it wasn’t worse, like the house!

    Having a tree or large limb come down was one of my major fears, especially since we have two really large ones close to the house. We made our boys sleep in the guest room since it’s furthest from both trees!

    We were lucky and had no damage or power outages. Just lots of rain and strong winds. *hugs*

  2. Joelene
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 09:01:19

    Wow! Glad you’re all right and your house was spared (which I see is yellow…always wanted a yellow house). That was a good sized tree. Looking forward to the escape. Bring on *gentle* ocean breezes.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:43:09

      Hi Joelene. I love my sunshiny house. Looking at everything 24 hours later, I’m even more thankful we didn’t experience worse. I look forward to sharing that escape with you soon. 🙂

  3. Jolyse Barnett
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:39:58

    Thanks, Gwen. Happy to hear your family is fine, too. Our power has returned, and I’m thrilled!

  4. Nicole Basaraba
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 12:38:13

    Sending my best wishes to those who were “visited” by Irene. I’m also looking forward to the escape. (p.s. I sent you an email this weekend, hopefully its in your inbox regardless of power outages).

  5. alicamckennajohnson
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 15:06:21

    Glad your safe, I hope things get cleaned up soon.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 15:41:06

      Hi Alica! Although the property damages from Irene were significant along the East Coast, most people were able to safely ride out the storm. Clean up is going smoothly here on Long Island, with sunny skies and balmy breezes. What a difference a day can make.

