Couple’s Massages


Are you considering a romantic couple’s massage gift certificate for your spouse? Or have you received one as a gift? A massage can be a delicious escape from the everyday hassles of life, and sharing that with a loved one only heightens the experience.

For our fifteenth wedding anniversary, my husband and I sailed with Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines on the Explorer. I’d never had a professional massage, although many of my friends had gushed about spa treatments on occasion, and I wondered if one would live up to the hype. Once we were aboard, my husband surprised me with a scheduled couple’s massage. I soon learned my friends knew what they were talking about.

That first spa treatment was romantic from start to finish. We changed into our swim suits and joined each other in the Vitality Spa’s luxurious hot tub. Beautiful mosaic tiles and light, soothing music surrounded us. We soaked our cares away. Twenty minutes later, we slipped out of the tub to don fluffy white spa robes and slippers. For the second phase of the experience, we were greeted by beautiful blue and green stone tile loungers I imagined could also serve as pieces of art.  Sipping sparkling lemon water, we gazed through the glass wall to the brilliant turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Languid minutes passed until my husband and I sauntered into the sauna and lazily showered in our suits together. We then rested once more on the loungers until being summoned for our massage. By the time we relaxed on side-by-side tables in a cozy, rosewater-scented room, I felt so pampered I wondered if I’d stay awake during the massage. I didn’t, but from what I recall, the sensation of knowledgeable hands stroking the aches and knots from my body’s muscles was incredible. I can be shy in new situations, and never having lain nude beneath a crisp sheet while a masseuse worked her magic, it was nice having my husband nearby. He seemed to be enjoying his massage as well, from the sound of his deep, even breathing and contented sighs.

I could end this post here, and leave you with blissful thoughts about all couple’s massages. Yet, that wouldn’t be entirely fair. You see, a number of years later we had our second couple’s massage. That experience was quite different.

Hoping to return the spa favor, I booked a Valentine’s weekend at Mohegan Sun in Connecticut–including a couple’s massage. I assumed we’d repeat our spa cruise experience since I had spoken with hotel staff and ensured the accomodations were the same. We entered the spa full of happy anticipation. After changing into swim suits in separate rooms as we had the first time, I entered the hot tub area. It was then I realized my error. This part of the spa was divided by gender. I was comfortable and relaxed, being the only person in the woman’s section, but I missed my other half. After all, it was Valentine’s Day.

When we finally saw each other an hour later, I learned the men’s section of the spa had been crowded in the hot tub and at the sauna. We laugh about it now, him being surrounded by naked men on what was supposed to be our romantic afternoon. He didn’t find it too funny at the time, and I was sad he’d been disappointed. Thankfully, the actual couple’s massages were splendid. It almost made up for the first part of our afternoon. Almost.

The good news is we’ve booked a cruise next summer with Royal Caribbean. Vitality Spa, here we come!

Have you ever had a couple’s massage? If so, how would you rate the experience? If not, would you want one?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie Van Well
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 09:29:14

    The closest hubby and I came to a couple’s massage was in St. Thomas; him in one room, me in another. I had a sunburn and wasn’t too happy about being alone with some strange guy rubbing me up and down lol These days, I think I wouldn’t care so much 🙂

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:50:23

      Ah Maggie, you poor thing. I would definitely give it another try, at a place where you’d be together in one room. Better yet, you could lie side-by-side on a beach spa table, listening to the nearby surf and tropical breeze. 🙂

  2. Marcia
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:37:16

    The only couples massage we’ve had is the one we give each other in our bedroom. I’ve had one massage in a studio locally. It was fine but I like my husband’s better. If we went on a cruise and visited the spa for a massage, I think that might rival our home massages for romance. No cruise scheduled yet, maybe 2013. Great post and glad to know it pays to ask a lot of questions to make you get what you want. Thanks, Jolyse!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 16:46:30

      Good for you, Marcia. The at-home massage sounds wonderful. Do you have particular lotions or oils that you’d recommend?

      • Marcia
        Dec 21, 2011 @ 00:07:14

        We use body butter. It keeps your skin soft and scented through the next day. I’ve also used other lotions from Bath & Body Works, but the butter is the best! If either of us has tired, achy feet, we use Camphor oil and a homemade linament first and then the butter – by morning you feel fantastic!

  3. Donna Coe-Velleman
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 23:42:23

    I’ve never had a professional massage. I would love one especially since my husband hasn’t given me one in years. I once had reservations for him to have a massage. Then I was going to take him out for a good steak dinner for his birthday. The surprise was on me when he told me he didn’t want to go. Oh well.
    Maybe if we were on a cruise and we were together he’d do it.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Dec 21, 2011 @ 17:36:55

      I’ve received spa treatment gift cards on occasion but always felt awkward about using them. I’d never been before and can be a bit on the shy side at times. Going together was perfect for me. The cruise atmosphere is certainly conducive to this type of activity, of course.

      Thanks for stopping by, Donna, and enjoy the holiday season. 🙂

  4. Catie Rhodes
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 09:53:22

    Your experience on the cruise ship sounds really, really neat.

    I’ve had exactly one massage. It was one of those things I could take or leave. Since I was so ambivalent–and since it wasn’t cheap–I’ve never looked into getting another one.

    That said, I can see where this would be an enjoyable, neat experience. I’m glad you and your hubby got to do it. 😀

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Dec 21, 2011 @ 17:44:37

      I’ve had one solo massage under the palm trees of Cozumel. It was fine, but her touch was too light for me and I did miss the experience leading up to that part. I probably wouldn’t go that route again. I did enjoy having a facial on our second cruise, which included a neck and head massage. I would do that again, in a heartbeat.

      Thanks for commenting, and I hope your holidays are wonderful. 🙂

