Tagged, I’m It! About This Author…


I’ve been tagged by romance author Jan Romes to answer the following questions, so here goes:

1.) What is the one book you couldn’t live without?
The HOLY BIBLE is my life’s anchor. Another book that’s had a powerful influence on my attitude and approach to daily obstacles is Rick Warren’s  THE PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE. My husband, daughter and I read the book a number of years ago as a family.
2.) What can you see out your window at the moment?
I glimpse through the curtains a few bare-limbed trees silhouetted by an evening sky of grays and blues. As pretty as that is, I’d prefer the view that’s shown on your left. 🙂
3.) What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?
When I was little, my father often dared me to eat things like frog legs and pigs feet. I didn’t try either of those Adirondack delicacies, but I did brave eating chicken heart. (It was actually pretty good.)
4.) What fictional character would you most like to marry?
My interest in real men grew, in part, from my love of Kathleen Woodiwiss’ hero, Ruark Beauchamp. If you haven’t read SHANNA, first released in 1977, it’s worth a look. I adore Woodiwiss’ setting description, her flawed yet redeemable characters, and believable suspense woven into steamy historical romance.

Ruark and Shanna Beauchamp

5.) If ever a fictional villain was going to win, who would you want it to be?
I’m rather intrigued by Mr. Gold/Rumplestiltskin, as portrayed on ABC’s new show, Once Upon a Time. I feel for the guy, a man bullied all his life who then lost everything he loved. He had the opportunity to gain power and, in turn, revenge. I especially like that he abhors the Evil Queen as much as any of the morally upright characters in the tale.
6.) How many types of cheese can you name off the top of your head?
*Sniff* This makes me wistful, as I had to give up dairy products about two months ago. I can name at least a dozen off the top of my head. My favorites, should I ever be fortunate enough to have them pass my lips again, are cheddar, provolone, mozzarella, ricotta, and Yarlsberg Swiss.
7.) If you didn’t want to be a writer, what would you be?
I’d be an artist, although I can only draw objects or scenes I can see. I’m not skilled at drawing from imagination or memory.
8.) Can you play a musical instrument?
I play alto sax passably well and dabble in piano, flute, and clarinet. I’d like to learn how to play the steel drums like the two women in this video:

Isn’t Caribbean music beautiful!

9.) Do you own a Kindle or any sort of e-reader?
I have a Kindle Fire, and I plan to buy a Kindle Touch for summer use.
10.) If so, how many books do you have on it?
I’ve purchased a handful so far. Jan Romes’ terrific romantic comedy, ONE SMALL FIB, is one of them!
11.) You just got published. In a glowing review, someone calls you the next (insert name of famous author). Which author has to watch their back now you’re on the scene?
Hmm. I think there’s plenty of room for all types of writers and books, but I’d love to be compared as a contemporary romance author version of historical romance author Eloisa James. I’m a huge fan of her descriptions, emotion, and intelligent wit. I met her at last year’s RWA conference in New York City, and was even more impressed by her friendly manner and classy style.

Now I’m tagging the following bloggers with the challenge to answer the same questions. Hope you’re game!

Patty Blount

Ashley Cockerill

Rhonda Hopkins

Catie Rhodes

Please visit again soon, as my homage to Papa Hemingway’s early years will be posted Monday Friday. Until then, may you spend time doing what you love!

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Extra Picoblog: I Got Tagged « A. C. Cockerill
  2. Catie Rhodes
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 12:38:42

    Thanks for the tag, Jolyse. I did this me-me a short while ago, but I will keep the tag in mind to do again one day when I need an “easy” blog. 😀

  3. Rhonda Hopkins
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 12:46:15

    Thank you for tagging me, Jolyse. Wow! I loved SHANNA too. My cousin gave me a copy when I was about 17. A little over 30 years ago and it’s still one of my favorite books. Really enjoyed getting to know you a little better. 🙂

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Apr 01, 2012 @ 13:58:17

      Thanks for playing along, Rhonda!
      I was seventeen when I read SHANNA too. Perhaps I love the tropics so much because of that book, mostly set in the Caribbean. I look forward to reading your responses to these questions. 🙂

  4. Jan Romes
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 22:20:56

    Great answers, Jolyse! :-)) You gave a lot of thought to them! I’ve read Kathleen Woodiwiss but it’s been awhile (sad to say I cannot remember the title). It sounds like I should revisit her books!

  5. Donna Coe-Velleman
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 23:28:15

    Nice answers.
    Here’s another for you Jolyse
    12) You’re stranded on a desert island. What two things would you want to have with you? (And no you can’t say family or friends)

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:15:10

      Hmm. I’ve often heard this one but haven’t really thought about it. Being practical and having watched the movie Castaway, I suppose I’d want a Swiss army knife and a fire starter. If I could have a third item I’d want a water purifier, but I guess I could live without it until I’m rescued. Hopefully…

      • Donna Coe-Velleman
        Apr 03, 2012 @ 01:10:34

        You are practical. 🙂 You might want something bigger like a machete.
        Okay here’s another one.
        You can have one person stranded with you other than a family member. Who would that person be?
        (Sorry for being nosey, I like asking these questions)

  6. Julie Glover
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 16:31:37

    Great post, Jolyse. Enjoyed it! The question that I thought about most was the weird things I’ve eaten. I will try just about any kind of meat. Thus, I’ve had those frog legs (yummy), rabbit, duck, squid, shark, alligator, elk, and rattlesnake. What else should I try? We’ll see.

  7. Trackback: Tagget by Ninja Assassin! | | Live the StoryLive the Story
  8. Marcia
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 22:52:30

    Great answers, Jolyse! I always like learning a little more about my friends! Talented with diverse interests…love it!

  9. Trackback: Tagged by Ninja Assassin! | | Live the StoryLive the Story
  10. Tuere Morton
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 22:21:33

    Fun post! I especially loved the “mock” view from the window, Beautiful 🙂

  11. Trackback: Morton’s Toe and Malbec?? « JOLYSE BARNETT'S Margarita Moments & Other Escapes
