What Turns You On?


May 31st is Jolyse Barnett’s Margarita Moments Blogiversary. In appreciation of YOU, my readers, I’m giving away prizes to random commenters** each week this month. (See last week’s prize package winner at the bottom of this post.) So, if you haven’t yet left a comment, now’s the time to dip your toes into the blog waters. Your email isn’t made public and you can use a nickname for privacy. Winners from today’s post will be announced Monday, May 21st. Enjoy, and good luck!

I was driving home from work Friday afternoon, enjoying my sweet escape when classic Shania Twain played on my car stereo:

As I sang along, I thought about what turns on one person may easily turn off another. For me, like in the lyrics for That Don’t Impress Me Much, it’s all about the touch. Intelligence, confidence, and sense of humor rate right up there, too, but I’ve always been a sucker for large, capable hands.

But enough about me.

The first move

According to Men’s Health magazine, the top three turn-ons for heterosexual women are:

  1. His skin – soft to the touch but with a rugged appearance; tan but healthy
  2. His smile – clean, unstained teeth
  3. His scent – a light, musky/spicy cologne preferred

Sounds so clinical, doesn’t it? This article goes a step further and explores the nuances of attraction in established relationships. Many women report they prefer little loving gestures, such as pitching in with the dishes or enjoying coffee together at sunrise, rather than traditional romantic expressions like flowers and cards. Others mention a guy’s ability to apologize when he’s wrong and a man who is unafraid to reveal his inner little boy. This last one makes me smile. I adore when my man acts silly for sheer, innocent fun.

If you surfed onto this blog post hoping to view a little man candy, I’d hate to disappoint. Click here for a funny, sexy “What Type of Man Turns You On” test. I took the test (for research purposes only, of course) and learned I like refined action movie guys.

She invites you into the shower

To be fair to my male readers, here’s an excerpt from GuySpeak blog about what many heterosexual men say is important in a woman:

  • She’s confident
  • She stands up for her friends
  • She’s willing to cook, even if she’s not good at it
  • She cheers him up when he’s feeling down
  • She loves long, slow kisses
  • She sleeps naked
  • She loves to laugh
  • She rides the roller coaster

I LOVE that last one. Interesting how many of the traits are similar for both sexes. Maybe we’re not so different after all.

Curious minds want to know. What turns you on?

Congratulations to Jennifer Brown, this week’s winner of the blogiversary prize package. We’re low-tech here. My husband picked your name out of a hat–literally. See how easy that was! Please email me at jolysebarnett@gmail.com with your address, and your pool safe wine glasses, festive kitchen towels, and $10 Amazon Gift Card will soon be on their way! Enjoy your Margarita Moment. 🙂

This week’s prize is a colorful beach towel and a $15 Amazon Gift Card. Be sure to comment if you want to be included in the random drawing.

**Commenters must provide a continental USA address if selected as the prize winner. I apologize to my out-of-country readers. I love you too, and will have to figure out a cost-effective way to include you in future giveaways. Thanks for reading.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Glover
    May 14, 2012 @ 08:06:42

    Sense of humor and a willingness to stand up for what’s right rank high on my list. Thankfully, I married a guy with both. Happy blogiversary!

  2. Tuere Morton
    May 14, 2012 @ 11:25:35

    Happy Blogiversary, Jolyse!! Hmm, there are a couple ot things but I’ll have to say one of the things that top my list is his “intuitiveness” to my needs. Selfish right? lol. A dude that can navigate with my mood is alright in my book 😉

  3. lynnerose
    May 14, 2012 @ 17:50:31

    Well. I took that little survey too (to support your research efforts, of course!) and it seems I like Mysterious Buff. Who knew? Happy Blogiversary! and thanks for the link to the lovely glimpse of Usher.
    In real life I like intelligence, sharp wit, bright eyes. Ooh, and someone who knows the value of quiet. Also nice hands.

  4. Catie Rhodes
    May 14, 2012 @ 18:14:10

    Tattoos. Hard muscles from hard work. Blue collar. A deep smoker’s voice–like Kris Kristofferson. Fearlessness. Kindness–a man who loves his dog is deeply endearing to me.

    Fun post. 😀

  5. Rhonda Hopkins
    May 14, 2012 @ 19:44:47

    Oh my! I took the test and found I like the Exotic Bad-Ass. LOL Apparently I want it all in my man. 🙂 Seriously though what I love most are the eyes, a sense of humor and the ability to not take themselves too seriously.

  6. happygrape2
    May 14, 2012 @ 20:14:05

    Hmm… Toned arms and a cute smile!

  7. Jeannie Moon
    May 14, 2012 @ 20:55:55

    Apparently I go for the “Classic Scorcher.” Uh, yup. That’s me. In real life, a smile that goes right to the eyes, kindness and great hands. Oh, and I like them tall. And big. And…. *fans self* Okay. I’m done.

  8. Muffintopmommy
    May 14, 2012 @ 21:05:50

    I was always a sucker for guys who could make me laugh! (Does that surprise you?) I also love sparkly eyes and I think actions speak louder than words when you’re dating someone. I picked a great hubs so I guess I followed my own advice! 🙂 Fun quiz by the way….ahem.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      May 14, 2012 @ 21:37:40

      Happy you enjoyed the quiz, even happier you followed your heart (and libido) to choose life with a guy who makes you laugh. Have a wonderful week!

  9. Donna Coe-Velleman
    May 15, 2012 @ 00:45:26

    I took the test but for about half of the questions neither of the answers appealed to me. Gosh what does say about me? lol
    I’m a sucker for eyes and a great smile. A nice body doesn’t hurt either but comes in second to the others to the other physical traits. A good sense of humor, intelligence and respect top the list.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      May 15, 2012 @ 06:35:28

      Welcome, Donna! It says you value what’s inside a person as much or more than what’s on the outside. Not a bad thing, as far as I can tell. 🙂

  10. Marcia
    May 16, 2012 @ 21:13:32

    First meeting: Eyes with light behind them (intelligence) and masculine hands-not too soft nor too rough. After that: ability to be carefree, sense of humor and the courage to be honest. Confidence, sense of humor and the way my hubs winks at me to let me know he’s thinking of me in a crowd also turns me on!

  11. Donna
    May 18, 2012 @ 19:11:04

    I took the test and it said I like bad boy buff. Totally accurate about what visually attracts me but as we all know theres more to a partner than looks. Sense of humor, kindness and a love of reading and sports. Good smelling is also key 🙂

    • Jolyse Barnett
      May 19, 2012 @ 07:55:21

      Hi Donna! Thanks for stopping by and taking the test for fun. Maybe we can look at it this way. A potential partner’s features or build sparks interest. If accompanied by desirable traits such as quick wit, intelligence, and humor, that spark ignites into flame. The fire of passion is fed by generosity, compassion, and loyalty, which keeps the relationship growing. Both are happy! 🙂

