Anything Can Happen, If You Let It


A Spoonful of Sugar

I saw Mary Poppins at New Amsterdam Theatre this week with the children in my life. The entire production was what one would expect of Disney on Broadway, from the special effects to the staging to the superlative acting. My favorite part of this delightful matinee took place in the second act, a profound little number called “Anything Can Happen.”

Anything can happen if you let it

Sometimes things are difficult but you can bet it

Doesn’t have to be so
Changes can be made
You can move a mountain if you use a larger spade
Anything can happen, it’s a marvel
You can be a butterfly
Or just stay larval
Stretch your mind beyond fantastic

Dreams are made of strong elastic
Take some sound advice and don’t forget it
Anything can happen if you let it
I wonder…
Anything can happen if you let it
You won’t know a challenge until you’ve met it
No one does it for you
No one but yourself

Vacillating violets get left up on the shelf

Anything can happen, just imagine… 
…Broaden your horizons
Open different doors
You may find a you there that you never knew was yours… 
Anything can happen if you let it, life is out there waiting so go and get it…

…Go and chase your dreams you won’t regret it

Anything can happen
If you let it.

A year ago today, I jumped into the world of blogging with excitement and a more than a little trepidation–the overriding goal of writing for you spurring me forward. I don’t want to be “a vacillating violet.” I made my choice to follow my dreams; no turning back.

Thanks to all of you, those of you who stop by and read now and again, those of you who read and like my work enough to place your gravatar below a post or share it with others, and those of you inspired enough to comment. I’m especially grateful to each and every one of my fifty-one blog followers! I love bringing Margarita Moments to you each Monday, almost as much as I enjoy learning about you and your journey.

Remember, “Life is out there waiting so go and get it. Anything can happen if you let it.”

What’s your dream? What goals can you make to get you one step closer to realizing it? Tell us about it!

If you’re curious about my goals, I’ve decided to make the leap to join Kait Nolan’s brainchild, ROW in 80 Days, for the third round beginning July 2nd. Any writers interested in joining the challenge?

If you enjoyed this post,  I suggest you check out Meredith’s Jaegar’s The Trouble with Twenty-Two article, “Manifesting What You Want.” She gives easy-to-follow steps and helpful links. You won’t regret it.

In blogiversary news…our lucky winner from Monday’s post is Donna Coe-Velleman! Congratulations, Donna. Your $25 Amazon gift card and pair of Margarita glasses will soon be on their way. The final prize winner to celebrate all my wonderful readers will be announced Monday, June 4th, with a drawing from commenters throughout the month of May – June 3rd. The prize–a surprise!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tuere Morton
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 03:13:41

    A big Congrats to you, Donna! Ahh, Mary Poppins takes it back for me 🙂 Hmm, I suppose an obvious dream for me is for my book series to be published…well and soon! Happy Blogiversary!!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 06:49:14

      I believe positive thinking and working hard mixed in with a bit of good luck will make it happen, Tuere. Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your weekend. 🙂

  2. Kathy
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 07:35:26

    Well said! I’m no Mary Poppins, however, I do believe anything can happen. I also know something will happen whether you participate or not. Sitting back and fretting over choices and resignation won’t get you where you want or should be. Life is a contact sport! Happy Blogiversary!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:07:17

      I’m not Mary Poppins either, Kathy, but I used to wish I was Ms. Frizzle–the lady from the Magic School Bus Series. She’s one cool lady.

      You’re so on target. Anything can happen, so we may as well get involved and have control over the things we can. I may not be able to control how quickly I’m published (Although with indie publishing, maybe I can?), but I can control how often I write, how hard I work on honing my craft, and how much I query and pitch. All these things will lead to me attaining my ultimate dream.

      Another part I like in Anything Can Happen is, “Reach for the heavens, and the stars will get thrown in.” Why not dream big? Curious minds want to know, “What’s your dream?” 🙂

      • Kathy
        Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:19:48

        My dream is to travel with my hubby. That unfortunately is out of my control and I will wait patiently until he retires :(.

        • Jolyse Barnett
          Jun 01, 2012 @ 22:23:29

          Yeah, that’s a difficult one. In the meantime, maybe you can research all the places you wish to visit, save money for your adventures, learn the cultures and languages of the people, map out your travel plans, or anything else that prepares you for that ultimate day, the first day of the rest of your lives together, exploring the world. 🙂

  3. Stacy Green
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 09:18:31

    COngrats! Loved Mary Poppins. I tried to get Grace to watch a couple of years ago but she was too young. Will have to try again. And you’re right, anything really can happen.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:18:09

      Mary Poppins is one my favorite characters. She’s brash and sweet at the same time. Funny how my daughter was always petrified of her, though. She thought the woman would make her drink medicine. LOL

      We watched the original movie songs today on Youtube. Maybe introduce some of the songs first to capture Grace’s attention, and lead into the movie that way. That used to work for us when they were little. Oh, and don’t forget to follow up with Travers’ book. It’s fun to compare the two mediums.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, Stacy, and have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Patricia Yager Delagrange
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 09:52:17

    I always enjoy your posts, Jolyse, and am happy to celebrate your Blogiversary! Yes, you have to believe that anything can happen if you let it and you have to believe.
    Patti

  5. Patricia Yager Delagrange
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 09:52:42

    Happy Blogiversary, Jolyse!
    Patti

  6. Maggie Van Well
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 10:12:08

    Congrats on the one-year anniversary, Jolyse! And congrats to Donna 🙂 Mary Poppins has a special place in my heart…it has chimney sweeps

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:19:59

      Yay for chimney sweeps! You’d be happy to know there were females represented in the chim-chim-cheree song as the sweeps swept across the stage tap dancing their toes off. Thanks for commenting, Maggie. Always great to chat with you. 🙂

  7. Julie Glover
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:41:56

    Congrats on the blog anniversary! And welcome to ROW80. I’ll see you there.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:22:26

      Hi Julie! Your focus and progress this past year has really inspired me. ROW80 has so many talented writers meeting the challenge. I want to be part of that energy and productivity. Look forward to joining the ranks–only one month away!

  8. Meredith Jaeger
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:22:13

    Congrats on your bloggiversary and thank you for mentioning my post! I’m glad you liked it and I really enjoyed the lyrics to the song that you posted. I should watch Mary Poppins again and see how I feel about it now (haven’t seen it since I was little and don’t remember the story!) 🙂

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:29:41

      Thanks for always inspiring me with your positive energy, Mere, and keeping me young.

      Chills of excitement ran through me as I sat in that beautiful theatre listening to those lyrics. I felt it in my bones that afternoon, and it’s just as strong today; I will succeed at this dream. All I have to do is keep writing, writing, writing….

      I love following your journey, too. Keep us posted. 🙂

  9. Marcia
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 22:03:56

    I love those lyrics, Jolyse! So apropo for all of us, and as a writer even more so. Anything can and does happen and I’m so glad I happened onto your blog one day so many months ago! Happy continued blogiversary!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 22:27:25

      Congrats again on completing your first novel, Marcia. I can appreciate the dedication and effort that went into it, and am estactic thinking about your future success!

      I’m thankful to have met you via the blogosphere, drawn together by our mutual love of the written word, and value your friendship. I look forward to meeting one day in person, perhaps at a conference or maybe one day when you’re in NYC. 🙂

  10. jeff armstrong
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 22:09:25

    We have one dream. My wife and I plan to retire as early as humanly possible, sell it all and live on a boat for 20-30 years of amazing sunsets around the world. We will drop anchor is the kids come to visit I suppose

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jun 03, 2012 @ 08:15:43

      Hi! Great to see you here, Jeff. You two have a beautiful dream. I imagine you’re both working hard and saving those pennies to make your wish come true. Will you travel via sailboat?

