Did You Ever Notice?


If you’re like me, you’d agree stand-up comedy is one of those forms of entertainment where it can be really hysterical or downright uncomfortable. In my home turf here on Long Island, there are some decent comedians on weeknight and occasional weekends out earning a little extra cash or warming up for their bigger gigs in the city. These acts tend to be good to side-splitting great. Then there are those comedians honing their craft, who haven’t quite made it big yet. They are the acts that can go either way. When it goes bad, the audience squirms with embarassment for the comedian. It’s no fun for anyone.

That’s what makes you realize the talent that goes into making a great stand-up show. The timing, the writing about everyday experiences in a unique, funny way, the facial expression, the gestures…the little zingers that make us think.

I can recite the whole “Cake for Breakfast” routine by Bill Cosby and still get a kick out of George Carlin’s “Did you ever notice?” skit. But Bill’s comedic style plays too slow for this post and Carlin’s language isn’t PG enough. So, I surfed YouTube, looking for the perfect stand-up moment to share with you today. After a couple hours of laughing, I realized I was procrastinating. What better stand-up moment to show you than Ellen Degeneres talking about, guess what, procrastinating.

What’s your favorite stand-up routine or comic? Are you a procrastinator? Are you reading this blog instead of working?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Coe-Velleman
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 23:56:57

    LOL. I’ve never heard the Carlin and Ellen routines before. Funny. I also like Cosby’s Noah routine.

    Thanks for the laughs.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 17:44:58

      Hey, Donna! I’d go check out the Noah routine if I knew I wouldn’t get sidetracked for a couple…hours. Thanks for stopping by, and have a wonderful week. 🙂

  2. Nicole Basaraba
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 00:40:50

    You’re totally right about some comedians being so funny and then others make you feel really uncomfortable. I also enjoy Ellen, its clean humor that almost everyone can relate to in some way!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 17:48:42

      I remember one comedy show my husband and I attended at a local club on a weekday evening. (That should have been a red flag.) The timing was off, the jokes fell flat, and one of the comedians actually became nasty when we didn’t laugh. It was horrible. Needless to say, we have never returned to that venue on a week night.

      I like Ellen’s style. Her jokes sneak up on you. 🙂

  3. lorddavidprosser
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 03:29:15

    I’ve always found the funnier they are the less they swear, as though the swearing will fill in for humour. I can accept swearing since it’s par for the course these days but not to excess. The funniest comedy I’ve seen though was wordless. On youtube I saw Karaoke for the deaf which is one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen. More so I think because the first one I saw was to Torn by Natalie Imbruglia which always seemed such an innocent song. If you haven’t already seen it, be prepared to laugh.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 17:52:44

      Thanks for hopping by our side of the pond, Lord David. I agree about the swearing. Sometimes the occasional curse word is appropriate for the tone of the show, but many times it serves as the joke itself, titillating the audience with naughtiness.

      I’ll have to check out the silent Karaoke, and I’ll be sure to avoid drinking anything while I watch it. 🙂

  4. Julie Glover
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 08:45:39

    I haven’t watched stand-up in a long time. But Elayne Boosler and Steven Wright used to consistently crack me up.

  5. Jill Weatherholt
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 08:46:30

    I think you just provided us with the perfect solution to the Monday morning doldrums, surf the internet for stand-up videos. That was hilarious, Jolyse! I agree with the previous comment, less swearing makes for a funnier routine. Thanks for the laugh!

  6. Maggie Van Well
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 09:39:36

    So funny! I always loved her. I am a procrastinator and, yes, I am reading this blog instead of working lol but at least I’m procrastinating for a good reason.

  7. Marcia
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 21:28:43

    I love Ellen! I also love Cosby and my favorite is Carlin! I had all of his albums at one time. I we have one of them. Like you said about Ellen, George Carlin’s humor could sneak up on you. With him i didn’t care how much he swore, he was hilarious! Thanks for the laughs, Jolyse, an the reminder I have to stop reading blogs and get back to writing!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 21:54:42

      Carlin was not only a talented comedian, but a modern philosopher. His cursing was never the punchline, either, which I why I think many of us didn’t mind it. Remember his skit about time? Incredible stuff.

  8. Jan Romes
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:43:12

    Good post, Jolyse! 🙂 Love the Ellen DeGeneres bit about procrastination. She’s a funny lady.

  9. Trackback: If These Shoes Could Talk « JOLYSE BARNETT'S Margarita Moments & Other Escapes
