No Worries, this is Brainy Fun


This post has a little something for everyone. If anything Super Bowl-related is as relaxing for you as a trip to the dentist for a tooth extraction, scroll down to Brainy Fun.

If your team isn’t in contention or you aren’t a fan of football, Super Bowl partes can be as much about the food and drink, commercials and half-time show as they are about the actual game. Granted, the contest between the Baltimore Ravens and San Francisco Forty-Niners this year was pretty exciting, especially with a 33-minute blackout, but the talk of the evening at our house last night was about the commercials. Here are our favorite top three:

3.  Sweetest Ad

2.  Family Life Ad

1.  Happiest Ad

Many of you in the US likely had seen the Volkswagon ad before the big game since it caused a bit of a stir. Some have complained it has racist undertones. However, I’ll take my cue from the Jamaican government, which has openly embraced the ad as a positive connection to Jamaican culture. No worries, mon.

What’s your take on Super Bowl XLVII?

Brainy Fun…

If you like optical illusions, you’ll enjoy this video. I always learn something new from these science movies, yet they keep my attention with their catchy illustrations. This one is interactive. Even better. 🙂

What do you think of fast thinking vs. slow thinking? Were you tricked by any of the optical illusions or surprised by any of the activities’ answers?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 19:22:19

    OMG! The Brainy Fun! I loved it! Based on multiplying the two digit numbers, I think I’m a slow thinker. Perhaps I’m slow because I stayed up past my bedtime watching the Superbowl last night. 🙂 The Clydesdale commerical was definitely my favorite. What was up with the GoDaddy commercial where the girl was kissing the guy? That was kind of creepy. 🙂

  2. Jolyse Barnett
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 20:16:07

    Hi Jill! I’ll blame Super Bowl lag tonight too. I wasn’t able to figure out most of the four-digit numbers in time. 🙂 As for the GoDaddy commercial, it turned my stomach. I also liked the Tide commercial about the JoeMontana stain, but it was too long for my ADD brain. LOL

  3. Donna Coe-Velleman
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 22:43:01

    I totally flunked the Brainy Fun. The clydesdales were the favorite at our house with God made a Farmer in second.
    Thanks for the fun post.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Feb 05, 2013 @ 17:39:13

      I imagine most of us would struggle with the Brainy Fun, Donna. No worries. LOL I don’t recall the God Made the Farmer one. Is that the one with the late Paul Harvey as narrator?

  4. Tuere Morton
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 21:35:49

    LOVED the superbowl! Didn’t intend on watching it but I couldn’t miss all the commercials and phenomenal half-time show. The Budweiser commercial choked me up. *sniffs*

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 16:46:29

      Yes, the Super Bowl didn’t disappoint this year. The game was exciting, the half-time show was wonderful, the blackout got my imagination in high gear, and some of those commercials (like the Bud ad) were precious. Enjoy your writing this week! 🙂

  5. Julie Glover
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 22:57:56

    Love the brain fun! I had seen the optical illusions and knew the Moses/Noah trick, but some of the other were newbies to me. It was a good explanation for how our brains try to keep us on track. I mentioned this concept recently to my son when talking about M.C. Escher drawings, which challenge that fast thinking and force us to reconsider what we see.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Feb 09, 2013 @ 14:36:09

      Happy you enjoyed the science video, Julie. Have a wonderful weekend. We’re snowed in here on Long Island, but the sun is shining bright. 🙂

