Bumper Sticker Humor


Overseas Highway, Florida

Overseas Highway, Florida

Today’s Margarita Moment is a montage of bumper sticker sayings I’ve gleaned over years of traveling.

Preachy or Obvious:

Honk if you love Jesus. Text and Drive if you want to meet Him.

The trouble with trouble is it starts out as fun.

If at first you don’t succeed, skydiving isn’t for you.

Techy:

What do we want? Time Travel. When do we want it? It’s irrelevant.

My podcast beat up your blog

Testy:

Horn broken. Watch for finger.

Mean People Suck

Word Play:

Midwives help people OUT

What would Scooby Doo?

Apathy – A Conflict of Disinterest

Help Stamp Out and Abolish Redundancy

Woman-Powered:

Ginger Rodgers did everything Fred Astaire did, except BACKWARDS and in HIGH HEELS!

Well-behaved women rarely make history – Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

My Top Three Favorites:

Reading is Sexy

One Human Race

MM 0

Happy President's Day...Truman's Little White House in KW

Happy President’s Day…Truman’s Little White House in KW

Any favorite bumper sticker sayings to share? Any bumper sticker pet peeves?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannie Moon
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 21:21:50

    I don’t know if I have the nerve to put it on my car, but I saw one that said “Outrageous Older Woman.” I really love that.

  2. lorddavidprosser
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 01:25:59

    My mother made me a Lebsian !
    If I give her the wool, will she make me one too?

  3. Julie Glover
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 08:42:24

    I love that redundancy one! Laughed out loud.

    I know it’s predictable, but I really do smile every time I see the bumper sticker that says: “You may all go to hell, and I will go to Texas. -Davy Crockett”

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Feb 19, 2013 @ 19:53:26

      I thought of you as I typed the redundancy line. Wordsmiths like us get a kick out of that silliness, I suppose. Thanks for sharing the Crockett quote…and now I’m singing the song, Daaaaa-vy, Daaaa-vy Crockett, King of the Wild Frontier! 😀

  4. Jill Weatherholt
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 18:26:08

    I love reading bumper sticker, even though I refuse to put them on my car. 🙂 One day, while sitting in traffic and thinking about the writing to be done, I read a bumper sticker on the car in front of me: ” I USED TO HAVE A HANDLE ON LIFE, BUT IT BROKE.” It made me smile, just like your post. 🙂 Love the photo of Truman’s little white house in Key West.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Feb 19, 2013 @ 20:07:40

      I don’t have bumper stickers, but I do have a few window decals: CR for Conch Republic, Frog & Onion Pub Royal Dockyard Bermuda, and a pair of flip flops. 🙂 I like the one you shared. Sad but true, huh?

      Thanks for the photo compliment. I wish I could’ve written a post about Truman’s years in Key West but we’ve yet to take the tour and I wouldn’t be able to do the story justice at this time.

      Have a super week!

  5. Donna Coe-Velleman
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 09:37:49

    I didn’t know Truman had a house in Key West. Thanks for the fun post I love reading bumper stickers though I can’t think of any of my favorites right now. 😦

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 17:28:53

      Thanks for stopping by, Donna.

      Apparently, Truman used his little White House quite often as a presidential retreat. I once met a woman whose father was a secret service agent for Truman’s family, and she shared some tidbits about his work on KW, such as the private beach that was created just for Truman’s family at the naval base.

  6. Kathryn Watkins
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 09:10:10

