Scenes From a Country Road


It’s often said that you cannot truly appreciate the beauty of a place until you leave it behind. No truer words were ever spoken. Here are a few of my favorite moments en route to our family reunion in the Adirondacks, where we shared a few stories, a few laughs, and lots of food, drink, and hugs.

My fictional town of Starling is inspired by the land I knew as a child and teen in beautiful upstate New York and the way of life I observe when visiting loved ones far from my current home on Long Island.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How did you enjoy this last unofficial weekend of summer? What was your favorite moment of the season?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. davidprosser
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 14:54:35

    Beautiful pictures Jolyse.I hope you had a wonderful reunion.We have a word for the ache inside when you leave home behind, we call it Hiraeth ( hi rye th ) the longing to be back there again. I can well imagine some of that feeling judging by the places you’ve chosen to photograph.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Sep 03, 2013 @ 10:56:34

      Thanks, David. Yes, I feel very nostalgic when I return to my childhood home. I miss my mother dearly (She passed in 2001 after a very long illness.), but I savor time home with my Dad, siblings, and extended family. I held my Great Nephew for the first time; he’s sixteen months old. I guess that makes me a Great Aunt, now doesn’t it?? LOL. Have a wonderful week! (((hugs)))

  2. Jill Weatherholt
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 14:09:11

    Lovely pictures, Jolyse! My family is from West Virginia and so many of your photos took me back to my roots. Thanks for sharing. It sounds like the trip was a perfect end to the summer.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Sep 03, 2013 @ 15:21:53

      I’ve yet to visit West Virginia, but I can imagine there are many similarities between our rural roots. Thanks for stopping by, Jill, and enjoy the rest of your warm weather. (Oh, how I hate to see this season go…)

      • Jill Weatherholt
        Sep 03, 2013 @ 17:50:08

        The picture of the country road, the barn, the train track…all could have been taken in West Virginia. It’s a beautiful state, but I’m glad I grew up in the D.C. area.

        I hate to see summer come to an end as well. Although I do love fall, I don’t like knowing the cold temperatures are around the corner. Let’s get as much wear out of our flip flops as we can! 🙂

  3. Marcia
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 16:37:39

    Beautiful slide show, Jolyse! I pinned one of the pics (the rocky falls) to my ‘vacation spots’ board. I love the Adirondacks. The Catskills are gorgeous too. Hubs and i have been getting my Syracuse house ready to sell…almost done! I’m so looking forward to its sale ’cause then we’ll take a trip to Maine.
    Hope your holiday weekend was wonderful!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Sep 03, 2013 @ 20:14:03

      I’m so happy you enjoyed the photos, Marcia. How exciting that you have a Maine getaway planned. I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures. Take care of you, and enjoy! 😀

  4. Donna Coe-Velleman
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 23:08:54

    Now we know where Rylie gets her photographic talent from. Nice pics!
    Enjoy your 25th

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Sep 05, 2013 @ 07:50:30

      Thanks, Donna. I’m looking forward to it. I think the anticipation is as wonderful as the actual vacation. Nah. The vacation is definitely even better. 😉

  5. Cheryl
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 17:20:03

    Wait -no goat pics?

