Return from 25 Degrees Latitude


I did something I thought I’d never do. I ditched my Margarita Moments blog this week for a long-awaited getaway. It was my last hurrah to summer. Yeah, I know I should’ve planned ahead and had a post all scheduled to go. That way, when Monday rolled around and I was fishing in those sparkling, turquoise Key West waters, no one would be the wiser. I fully intended to, really. That pesky day job, which I happen to love almost as much as writing, somehow required far more prep time than I’d anticipated. I felt guilty, too, taking time away from my son to write when we would soon be separated. (In case you’re wondering, he was cared for by loving relatives. Turns out, he had a blast!).

So I ditched it.

But I didn’t ditch you. During an incredible, relaxing four night-five day couple’s retreat, I took an hour’s worth of video clips, approximately 1,000 photos, and copious notes. All for you. (Well, and a little for me. Who can relax ALL the time?) In return for your understanding and patience, here’s a sneak preview of upcoming posts. Some are adventurous, some are romantic…all of them are an escape from the ordinary:

Photo From “Becoming Art”

Backcountry Fishing–It Ain’t Just for Men Anymore

Better Than Sex?

Turtle Kraals Racing

Becoming Art

Seaplane Adventure to Dry Tortugas

Sexy Window Dressings

Flaming Buoy – Foodie’s Delight

Key West Gardens

Hemingway’s Haunts

Talent for Tips – KW Street Performers

And many, many more…

Photo From “Better Than Sex?”

If you have any preference for any of these above topics, or others you’d like to see, let me know. This blog is for you. 🙂

C’mon back Monday, October 17th, for a whole new season of fun!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catie Rhodes
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 20:29:15

    I’m definitely interested in Hemingway’s Haunts. And, of course, if you have anything paranormal… 😀

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 20:34:12

      I’m excited about the Hemingway post, too. I look forward to sharing it with you. Hmmm, working on a creepy post but it doesn’t quite fit into my blog’s theme. Perhaps I could guest post for you?

  2. Marcia
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 20:41:28

    Love the titles! Sounds like you had a fabulous time with your husband. It’s good to take a break. Hemingway’s Haunts also intrigues me. Once in Naples, FL I visited one of his favorite little clam shacks, but haven’t frequented anyplace else in FL he enjoyed. They all sound great…maybe of the others, the seaplane adventure would be my next choice…and then becoming art. You acomplished a lot in 4 days!

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 20:50:45

      Thanks for your feedback, Marcia. I’ve read many of Hemingway’s works and have studied his life since falling in love with Key West. Look forward to sharing these topics with you soon.

  3. Julie Glover
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 10:08:50

    Hemingway’s Haunts piques my interest and, since I’m not a domestic kind of gal, I wonder what “Sexy Window Dressings” could possibly be. Looking forward to your upcoming posts. Thrilled that you had a great getaway!

  4. Debora Dale
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 13:30:35

    Ooo, all of these topics sound exciting and intriguing! But… I’m with Catie… Hemingway Haunts sounds especially cool. And if there’s some paranormal stuff among the ‘haunts’, mores the better. lol

    I’m glad you were able to get away for a while. It sounds like you had a fantastic last hurrah.

    • Jolyse Barnett
      Oct 16, 2011 @ 16:00:50

      I could write a bunch of posts about Hemingway, although none are paranormal-related. The good news for Catie and you is that I have other creepy Conch Republic stories to share. 🙂

  5. Trackback: Flying To Dry Tortugas « JOLYSE BARNETT'S Margarita Moments & Other Escapes